AR-02: Elliott Responds to Wills’ Despicable Attack Mailer

1 Jun

In case you missed it, either on the web after returning to work today or in your mailbox over the weekend, here’s Robbie Wills’ attack mailer that has everyone talking:

I’m guessing that the scores of you who received this in the mail went through a thought process similar to mine.  The mailer instantly grabbed my attention in the mountain of bills and advertisements stuffed in my mailbox from a couple days out of town.  I looked it over, became shocked at how cut-throat it was, wondered why Timmy! Griffin’s campaign would already be attacking Joyce before the runoff was over, and then found that tiny “Paid for by Robbie Wills for Congress” line and became angry.

Livid, even.

We know these two state legislators have plenty of substantive issues to disagree on, and both sides had remained quite positive with their campaigns thus far.  Now a fellow Democrat just pulled out the Roveian Guns, God, and Gays Abortion demagoguery in attempts to scare voters into his column?!

Though we’ve taken issue with some of Elliott’s stances ourselves, this mailer is despicable.  There’s no other way of looking at it. We could dissect everything piece by piece — from the fact that the U.S. Supreme Court settled the “prayer in schools” debate over 40 years ago so it has no relevance in this campaign, to the fact that nobody can tell me the idea of having the same picture of Joyce put in the mailer three times was not a deliberate attempt to remind voters she’s a black woman with short hair (clearly a radical, you know) — but, we’ll let our readers make their own conclusions and weigh in.

Today, the Elliott campaign released a specific response to Wills’ attacks.

“I am saddened and dismayed the Wills’ campaign has decided to take the low road, but it does not change the fact that I still believe by working together we can improve our children’s education, create better healthcare choices for our families, and reignite the economic opportunities that will improve the lives of every Arkansan,” said Elliott.

[***]

“I said on the day I announced, that I am running for Congress because of my faith in Arkansas,” said Elliott. “The faith I learned from my family in Willisville and the Kendrick Missionary Baptist Church down the gravel road from our house has guided me my entire life. My belief in public service took me from college to teaching in our public schools for 30 years and then to the state legislature. I have committed my life to the things I believe in and one of the things I have always believed in is the value of telling the truth. While I very much respect Mr. Wills, I believe his campaign has abandoned their own pledge to run an honest campaign.”

Though we here at BHR have not officially weighed in with an endorsement in the AR-02 runoff, given the fact that Matt and I are both now inclined  just to leave the box blank should Wills win and face Griffin in November (because really, if he campaigns like Timmy! and says that he would have voted against HCR, can Wills and Timmy! really be all that different?), you can now put us squarely in the corner of Joyce Elliott as we head to the polls June 18.

We hope you’ll join us in denouncing Repug tactics in Democratic primaries and vote for her, too.

4 Responses to “AR-02: Elliott Responds to Wills’ Despicable Attack Mailer”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. AR-02: Elliott Fires Back | Blue Hog Report: Arkansas's Source for Progressive Politics - June 2, 2010

    […] during today’s KUAR radio debate about his campaign’s decision to send out the now infamous Memorial Day Weekend mailer attacking his opponent in the AR-02 Democratic runoff, we all know that Joyce Elliott is not one to […]

    Like

  2. AR-02: Elliott Fires Back | Blue Hog Report: Arkansas's Source for Progressive Politics - June 2, 2010

    […] during today’s KUAR radio debate about his campaign’s decision to send out the now infamous Memorial Day Weekend mailer attacking his opponent in the AR-02 Democratic runoff, we all know that Joyce Elliott is not one to […]

    Like

  3. AR-02: Wills Embraces Absurdity, Sends Out Second Mailer | Blue Hog Report: Arkansas's Source for Progressive Politics - June 3, 2010

    […] Jeff already hit on all the reasons that this line of attack is stupid, but I want to expand on one in particular. […]

    Like

  4. AR-02: Wills Embraces Absurdity, Sends Out Second Mailer | Blue Hog Report: Arkansas's Source for Progressive Politics - June 3, 2010

    […] Jeff already hit on all the reasons that this line of attack is stupid, but I want to expand on one in particular. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

